HomeVirtual TourPatient GuideSitemapContact UsDownloads
Vision About Us Faculty Courses International Patients Health Packages Patient Experiences
Diagnostic Services
Forensic Medicine
Transfusion Medicine
Community Medicine
General Medicine

General Surgery

Obstetric & Gynecology


Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Pulmonary Medicine
Cardio Vascular Surgery
Neuro Surgery
Neurological Sciences
Paediatric Surgery
Plastic &
Reconstructive Surgery
Additional Department
Medical Education
Home > Specialities > Anaesthesiology
Department of Anaesthesiology

The Department of Anaesthesiology & Critical Care at Pondicherry Institute of Medical Sciences is a highly integrated, collaborative group of dedicated anaesthesiologists. The department caters to various specialties like General Surgery, Orthopaedics, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, ENT & Ophthalmology, Plastic &  Micro-vascular Surgery, Cardiothoracic Surgery, Neuro Surgery and Paediatric Surgery. The variety of cases integrated with ongoing clinical research & education results in wide ranging expertise in the anaesthetic management of patients of all ages.

The Department was set up in the year 2001 under the leadership of the pioneer Cardiac Anaesthesiologist of India,
Dr. R.K. Kalyan Singh, who is also the recipient of the prestigious "Life Time Achievement Award in Cardiac Anaesthesia".  Brig. T R Ramachandran an eminent cardiac anaesthesiologist who was the President of Indian Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesiologist (IACTA) in the year 2001 took over the reins  of the Department in 2004.  Since its inception the department has blossomed into the   present state comprising of 3 Professors, 2 Associate Professors and  3 Assistant  Professors.

 The department caters to various surgical specialities & Super specialties and mans twelve well equipped operating rooms dedicated to various specialities.  The service of the department also extends to a Cardiac Catheterisation Laboratory equipped with state-of-the-art facilities where Interventional Cardiology and Radiological procedures are performed routinely and also to MRI & CT scan suits.

The department runs a Pre – Anaesthetic Clinic in the Out Patient department  for patients coming for day care Surgery.  Labor Analgesia (Painless Labor) is also rendered by the department as and when requested.

Dr. Sagiev Koshy George

Professor & HOD

Dr. Mamie Zachariah Professor
Dr. R. V. Ranjan Assoc.Professor
Dr. Kumba Ashok Anand Assoc.Professor
Dr. Sivakumar. S Asst. Professor
Dr. Nagalakshmi. P Asst. Professor
Dr.Sivaramakrishnan.D Asst. Professor
Dr. Sivakumar. S Asst. Professor
Dr. Ramyavel. T Asst. Professor
Dr. Arish. BT Asst. Professor
Dr. Hariharasudhan Asst. Professor
Dr. Sabareswara R. K Asst. Professor
Dr. Gnanasekaran Asst. Professor
Dr. Savitri V Asst. Professor
Dr. Arun Kumar. A Asst. Professor

 The department provides twenty four hours emergency services every day. The service of a consultant in anaesthesia is available day and night in order to ensure prompt attention and care of the patients coming to the Emergency.

The Emergency services are provided in

  • Casualty

  • Emergency Ward

  • Intensive Care Unit

  • Coronary Care Unit

  • Medical Intensive Care Unit

These services are backed up by excellent laboratory facilities which enable the management of patients especially in critical care unit to be carried out with precision and expertise

 The critical care unit which comprises of Emergency Ward with twelve beds and Intensive Care Unit with six beds is managed under the supervisions of Dr. T R Ramachandran, an expert in the field of critical care. His immense wealth of knowledge, vast experience and uncompromising quest for quality has made the critical care unit grow and become exceptionally noticeable in terms of patient care and quality of treatment offered.

DNB programme was started in the year 2004. The programme is conducted under the leadership of  Dr.T.R. Ramachandran who is an excellent teacher and clinician. The trainees are privileged to be guided by him during their training period in the department. Under his guidance, the department has created a niche of its own in terms of quality patient care, education and research.  Of the 7 candidates who have joined for this programme, three have passed the exam and three have appeared for the exam now and other two will be appearing by the end of the year 2008.  However the DNB programme has been discontinued and MD course in Anaesthesiology has been started in year 2008.  The first batch of three candidates has joined the department.

All Postgraduate trainees have to undergo a rotating programme in basic sciences and various surgical specialties, Intensive Care Unit & Emergency Ward in addition to their routine work in the operating room. The academic session consists of two sessions a day which includes seminars, case presentation & discussion, tutorials, journal clubs etc.  In addition, there is daily discussion on the cases conducted in the operating room and those of academic interest in the intensive care unit and emergency ward. All these resources enable the department to stay at the forefront of the speciality.

Regular lectures are delivered to the undergraduate (M.B.B.S.) students, in addition to their clinical attachments. They are introduced to the basic of anaesthesia, critical care management, Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation and trauma life support.  

Ongoing Departmental Projects

1. Comparison of esmolol, fentanyl and metoprolol in attenuating the pressor response to laryngoscopy
     and intubation.

2. Comparison of sevoflurane and propofol for laryngeal mask airway insertion.

3. Comparison of pressor response using laryngeal mask airway versus endotracheal tube in standard  
     anaesthetic practice.

Prospective ICMR Projects

1. Effects of Intrathecal and I.V. small-dose Sufentanil on the median effective dose of Intrathecal Bupivacaine  for Caesarean section.

2. Ketamine gargle for attenuating postoperative sore throat